Kathleen McClung “Beloved” Sonnet Prize Category

1st Prize: $100…. 2nd Prize: $50…. Third Prize:…. $25

Category Details

One Shakespearean, Petrarchan, or nontraditional sonnet per entry. Am Looking for contemporary, beautifully crafted sonnet on the theme of the beloved. I welcome celebrations, meditations, and passions of all varieties. As Edward Hirsch and Eavan Boland write, a sonnet “is a form of true power, malleable, nomadic, humane. It speaks to something that is deep within us. It turns us both inward and outward. It is both timely and timeless.”

About Judge/Sponsor

Kathleen McClung, (San Francisco, CA) Associate Director of SMK Literary Competition, is the author of two poetry collections, The Typists Play Monopoly (2018) and Almost the Rowboat (2013). Her work appears widely in journals and anthologies including Southwest Review, Naugatuck River Review, Unsplendid, The MacGuffin, Ekphrasis, Atlanta Review, cahoodaloodaling, California Quarterly, Forgotten Women, Sanctuary, Fire and Rain: Ecopoetry of California, and elsewhere. Winner of the Rita Dove, Morton Marr, Shirley McClure, and Maria W. Faust national poetry prizes, she is a Pushcart and Best of the Net nominee. Kathleen holds masters degrees in Education and English from Stanford University and CSU Fresno. She teaches at Skyline College and The Writing Salon in San Francisco, and has taught/advised student teachers in the credential program at Mills College. For ten years she has directed Women on Writing: WOW! Voices Now on the Skyline campus, celebrating creativity in writers of all ages. In 2018-2019 she is a writer-in-residence at Friends of the San Francisco Public Library.


Last Year’s Winners (2018)

First Prize: David Rosenthal of Berkeley, CA for “Braille”
Second Prize: Diane Lee Moomey of El Granada, CA for “Déjà Vu”
Third Prize: Jan Dederick of El Cerrito, CA for “Sonnet to the West Wind”

Honorable Mentions: Karen McAferty Morris of Pensacola, FL for “The Stars that Jeweled the Satin”; Diane Lee Moomey of El Granada, CA for “Wearing Snakes”; Katharyn Howd Machan of Ithaca, NY for “Painting Pansies”; Juan Alcala Luna of San Francisco for “Rachel to Jacob”; Tanya Figueras of Hayward, CA for “Pharaoh’s Daughter Upon Discovering Baby Moses”